Newsletter September 2016

Welcome to the 30th season of MRSI meetings!


We are pleased to announce that David Franks, Chief Executive of Irish Rail, is coming to address our October meeting.  Other events include a retrospective along closed lines with Richard Hayes, a visit by our friend and member Edwin McMillan following up his April book launch, Michael McMahon’s annual visit, and Colin McVea of NIR reviewing Phase 2 of the Coleraine-Derry/Londonderry railway line scheme.

The programme is here – more details, including March and April meetings, will follow in due course.


We are continuing to meet in Ashfield Girls’ school, Holywood Road, Belfast.  Unfortunately, increasing room hire costs mean that we now ask members to contribute £3 a night towards this.


Membership fees for 2016-17 are now due.  Please complete the enclosed form and send it with payment to Andy Boal as soon as possible.

As usual, membership cards will normally be issued at our meetings.

Please note:  If you have not paid your subscription for 2015-16 or 2016-17 this will be the last newsletter you receive.

30th Birthday celebrations

MRSI was founded in 1987, and we are therefore thinking about how to celebrate this anniversary.

We are in the initial stages of planning a Diesel railtour with RPSI for Autumn 2017, and we will keep members up to date with plans for this and other events during the 2017-18 session.

Committee 2016-17

At the AGM, the following were elected to the Committee:

Chairman                      David Carson (until the 2019 AGM)
Secretary                      Andy Boal (until the 2018 AGM)
Committee member      Matthew Tennis

Roy Thompson continues as Treasurer until the 2017 AGM.

Senior Travel Pass Group

Wednesday 28th September:  Taking the 0800 from Belfast to Dublin, the destination will be Carrick-on-Shannon

Wednesday 26th October:  Taking the 0800 from Belfast to Dublin, destination to be confirmed

Contact: To add your name to the mailing list, please use the contact form and we will pass your details on to Ken Harte.

Comments are closed.